My first 3 decisions…

When we got engaged the first 3 thing we made decisions on were

1) Church or civil wedding

2) Guest lists & dates

3) Venues

1) Church or civil wedding

For me this was the easiest decision, I will definitely be having a church wedding, It’s not that I’ve anything against civil ceremonies its just I’ve always imagined having the big church wedding  & will be having at my local church. which is where I was christened & grew up (I went to a Church of England school) which meant we visited it for Christmas, Easter, Harvest festivals, Sunday school & Summer fayres & so on.

St. John's Parish Church, Mexborough, South Yorkshire

The church ^

2) Guest lists & Dates

You don’t need to have your guest list or date set in stone but it is best to have a rough estimate when you are looking at venues. (Some have booking up until 2017!) Our numbers are between 60/70 for the day & 120/150 for the night. Some of the venues we have already looked at have a minimum of 80 during the day in peak seasons which is usually April-October. We plan to get married between June-August 2015.

3)Venues

We have a list of 7/8 venues that are between 20-40 minutes away from the church. For me it has to be close enough that people can easily get there and back but also have accommodation as some of my guest will be coming from far away. I’m pretty lucky as my fiance has basically left the overall venue decision up to me as I’m quite picky & I like places with character and lovely grounds we’ve visited 3 places already & one we absolutely love, one we like & one is a definate no & we’re visiting another 2 today. (I’ll be doing a post of venues next)

 photo 51e7869e-a156-42c4-879e-a8855d4c2eaa_zpsa3c584f4.jpg

One thought on “My first 3 decisions…

  1. I am getting married in nov 2013 hopefully . This is my second marriage . I have also been looking at . Wortley hall Whitley hall and cubley hall all for the whole wedding . I can’t decide … Think I will have to check reviews ..

Leave a Reply

